About Maria Cano

With 36 years of work at the national level, the María Cano University Foundation has consolidated three faculties: Health Sciences, Business Sciences and Engineering. Through the Faculty of Health Sciences, it offers the programs of Physiotherapy (at the Medellín, Cali, Neiva and Popayán campuses), Psychology, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy (at the Medellín, Cali, Neiva and Popayán campuses) and Nutrition and Dietetics. (in Medellín and Popayán); in the Faculty of Business Sciences it presents the Business Administration and Public Accounting programs, under in-person and virtual methodology; Likewise, the Faculty of Engineering offers the Software Engineering program.

The Physiotherapy (Medellín) – Physiotherapy (Cali) – Physiotherapy (Popayán) – Psychology (Medellín) and Business Administration (in-person Medellín) programs have High Quality Accreditation by the Ministry of National Education.

María Cano also presents the Advanced and Continuing Training Center, which offers specializations in Sports Physiotherapy, Cardiopulmonary Physiotherapy, Neurorehabilitation Physiotherapy, Health Services Management, Occupational Health and Safety Management, Senior Management, Cybersecurity, Public Health, Relationship Marketing Management, Comprehensive Early Childhood Care, Audiology, Human Talent Management, Sports Psychology, Tax Management, Project Management and Evaluation; The Institution has a wide range of graduates that contribute to the professional qualification of Colombians.

The IPS María Cano offers the services of Physiotherapy, Movement Analysis Laboratory, Audiology, Speech Therapy, Psychology, Nutrition and Dietetics, Occupational Therapy, General Medicine, Optometry and Safety and Health at Work.

After more than three decades of experience in the Colombian educational sector, the María Cano University Foundation is present in the departments of Antioquia, Huila, Cauca, Valle de Cauca and the Mariacanovirtual campus, where it is committed to continuing to consolidate the principles that build the future of Colombia, through comprehensive training, the generation and development of knowledge in all forms and expressions, to increasingly consolidate itself as a factor of scientific, cultural, economic and ethical development at the local, regional, national and international.


During its 36 years of existence, Maria Cano University Foundation has had four rectors:

  • Ligia González Betancur: From January 1989 to August 1993
  • Jairo Hernández Navas: From August 1993 to March 1995
  • Próspero José Posada Myer: March 1995 until April 2016
  • Hugo Alberto Valencia Porras: Current